Author Topic: art, inspiration and emotional blockage  (Read 2838 times)

shadrach

• View Profile
art, inspiration and emotional blockage
« on: September 22, 2020 »
Hi John,

What would you advise to do in regards trying to create art while being held back by emotional blockages?

Some context: Since childhood I've had the dilemma of being in a science, right-brain oriented, "safe"  career (software) vs. exploring a life in the arts. At the core, I know I'm an artist. Or at least I would very much like to fully express this side of myself. But emotional blockages are holding me back big time. This is somewhat of a family issue: my Dad had talent painting as a kid but was forced, told to enter a career in science because "painting is not really a serious profession". Somehow this repressed drive has been passed on. A couple of years back, through some various practices, some of the emotional blockages started "to thaw" and I began exploring music. It was my only escape, and something that I looked forward to...