Author Topic: Muscles contract and breathing stops when approaching suppressed negative energy  (Read 2787 times)

consciousness_itself

• View Profile
Hello,
I have read Emotional Clearing by John Ruskan and I have been practicing between 2 to 3 hours per day for about 6 months now. It took me many months of practice before I could even find the suppressed negative feelings that are distributed throughout my body in what seems to be network of dense, interconnected, stagnant, painful energies. I can definitely see how this energy is running the show of my life, which is why I am profoundly grateful for having the opportunity to study and practice Ruskan's process.

However, despite making substantial progress and experiencing some energetic catharses, I sense that I am having trouble going deeper into feeling and therefore clearing the energy. Every time I approach a suppressed energy with my awareness, my muscles contract involuntarily. The more I try to feel it, the more intense the contraction becomes, until I find myself nearly shaking from the muscular tension. Sometimes, in the midst of this intense contraction, I do actually get a release, which is felt as a small energetic catharsis (usually in the form of energy moving into and up my spine). I have tried to approach the pain by consciously keeping my muscles relaxed, but it seems to be an involuntary response that is difficult to avoid.

Likewise, I find that my breathing stops entirely when I am approaching this negative energy. If I attempt to consciously resume breathing, my ability to focus into the suppressed energy diminishes, almost as if the breath is distracting me from going deeper. My impression is that the cessation of breathing is not having a negative impact on my ability to access, feel, and clear the energy. In fact, it feels like the stillness afforded by lack of breathing actually improves my ability to go deeper. But I recognize that this impression might be a misguided blind spot.