Author Topic: Emotional / mental Contamination  (Read 2518 times)

Olb1

• View Profile
Emotional / mental Contamination
« on: August 22, 2021 »
Hi
I’m posting from the UK. Many years ago when I was about 20 (now 40) I had been working for a few years in IT, I got this job where you were given a company car, at the time I wasn’t excited by this as i liked owning my own cars and couldn’t really keep two. After a while the company bought some new cars which I didn’t really like but for some reason didn’t do enough to stop them as I was still young and a bit shy and afraid of authority. As soon as I was assigned the car I felt bad like this was something I’d regret letting happen. The car was not really a typical company car as it was more of an old mans car, old fashioned looking estate. Certainly not what a 20 year old would want especially me. I continued in this job but was unhappy as I had to drive this car I disliked and was hating more as time went on. I kept trying to suppress my feelings and concentrate on other things instead, there were plenty of other things at that age i was occupied with. Eventually though I kept coming back to the dislike of the car. It got to me after nearly 2 years and I was desperate to get out of the situation and nearly quit the job and told people I didn’t like the car. I was told they would get new cars but it would be a while so I hung on in the hope of the car being replaced. However it got to a point where I started to revile the car and see it as being dirty/disgusting. I started to see things in the car as being contaminated/infected. I would have to have a bath when I got it from work and change clothes. Eventually I got the new car but I had to contend with possessions that had been contaminated , I threw loads of stuff away, especially clothes. I didn’t want anything from the old car to be in the new car. After another year I quit the job as I couldn’t carry on re visiting customer sites where i was in contact with compute